Skip to content

The Ghost Inside is back with new single and upcoming fifth studio album

Press photo of The Ghost Inside

Today, metalcore band The Ghost Inside released their first single following their tragic bus accident in 2015. The release of “Aftermath” comes with the announcement of their upcoming self-titled studio album out June 5th via Epitaph Records.

“We went into the writing process knowing full well that every song and every lyric would be influenced by what we’ve been through, but we tried our best for them to be relatable to everyone,” says bassist Jim Riley in a press release.

The album was created with producer Will Putney (Every Time I Die, The Amity Affliction, Knocked Loose) and longtime friend/collaborator Jeremy McKinnon of A Day To Remember.

“With ‘Aftermath’ we let it be much more personal – this one is us telling OUR story,” he continues. “So when it was time to choose a first song to share with the world, it felt right for it to be ‘Aftermath.’ It allows anyone that listens into our world, but it also lets us put final punctuation on that chapter of our lives. ‘Aftermath’ is a total catharsis for us. We let it all out in the song so that it’s not bottled up inside us anymore and we can heal and move on, since after all, the beat goes on.”

The song and its accompanying video emphasize the fact that this band is far from being done. The video opens with the news segment of the bus accident but quickly pans to vocalist Jonathan Vigil standing in the very spot of the accident.

The accident claimed the lives of their driver, the lives of everyone in the other vehicle, and resulted in multiple injuries for all of the band members. Jonathan Vigil (vocals) suffered from a fractured back, ligament damage, and two broken ankles. Zach Johnson (guitar) has since had 13 surgeries for a femur injury. Andrew Tkaczyk (drums) ultimately lost his leg.

The video bounces between Vigil in the desert terrain and the band playing live on stage. The addition of home videos of the members practicing, and recovering from the accident provide an emotional insight that makes your heart leap with anticipation and courage for the band.

“Triumph over tragedy”

Those lyrics embody what the song is about; The Ghost Inside is coming back swinging.

“The band collectively came to see the ordeal as a moment to put their inspirational lyrics to the test,” states the press release. “Songs that were once more philosophical in origin had become autobiographical.”

The Ghost Inside is 11 songs of determination, deep resolve, reflection, and newfound hope,” it states.

“This isn’t about what happened to us,” Riley says. “We won’t get lost in that one day. This is about our journey, our growth, and who we are.”

The Ghost Inside marks the bands fifth studio album, following their 2014 release Dear Youth, which debuted #63 on the Billboard 200.

Pre-order the album here and visit their website to keep up to date with what they have in store.

The Ghost Inside track listing:

1. 1333
2. Still Alive
3. The Outcast
4. Pressure Point
5. Overexposure
6. Make Or Break
7. Unseen
8. One Choice
9. Phoenix Rise
10. Begin Again
11. Aftermath

Photo Credit: Jonathan Weiner



error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: